125 years of Alape

We have been working with glazed steel since 1896. For us, the material is an inspiring driving force and a standard of perfection. But it is water which creates a connection between man and product. As the origin of life, it literally flows into every design. With our basins and washbasins, we have been giving shape to this valuable element for 125 years – in ever new perfection.

Milestones

A child of
its time

The history of Alape follows Germany’s history through the founding period, industrialisation, world wars and post-war reconstruction. Founded in 1896 by Adolf Lamprecht in Penig, Alape was shaped by the era of industrialization, and at the same time also by such movements as the Arts and Crafts Movement, which instilled simplicity and a serious approach to materials in the company, so to speak.

Milestones in the
company's history

Embracing Water

Only water gives meaning
to the washplace

People have been living with our products for 125 years. In the bathroom, probably the most intimate room, we let go of all our worries and leave everyday life behind us. Water creates the link between masterly craftsmanship and our personality. When it flows through our fingers and is held by glazed steel, a moment of originality is created.

Design History

alape-125-designgeschichte

125 years of
design history

Alape’s design history is characterised by the constant exploration of glazed steel in interaction with people and architecture. Functional and holistic thinking, the highest demands on quality combined with aesthetic and timeless design lead to products that continue to be integrated into the most diverse living environments to this day. The main driving force behind the company’s continued development over the decades has always been the dialogue with designers, architects and people who live with Alape’s products.

The dawn of

a new era

After Alape had positioned itself in an architectonic setting with its own designs, such as the world’s first industrially manufactured EW 3 built-in basin, a new era began in the early 1980s in collaboration with Dieter Sieger – an architect and shipbuilder in his own right. What began in an emergency situation during the completion of a yacht at night was the start of a decades-long collaboration with our design partner sieger design that continues to this day.

Dieter Sieger relates about Heinrich Feldhege

who owned Alape at that time back in 1993:

“It’s basically thanks to him that I get to pursue industrial design today. This man made it possible for me to develop products that certainly no other company would have been willing to do at that time.”

The revolution of
the washplace

For Dieter Sieger, bathrooms had a higher significance than just minimal wet rooms as was the norm during that period. In shipbuilding, he had learned to design unique solutions with minimal space requirements for discerning customers. That is how, by 1982, the washplace “LavarSet” came to life. It was presented in 1983 at the ISH international trade fair for the sanitary sector. This washplace was a shining object and at the same time an expression of one’s personality. Influenced by shipbuilding, the design was characterised by curves and formal concentration. The underlying system approach left room for individual design. However, at the time it was not just the product, but the pavilion itself, which was specially designed by Dieter Sieger for the ISH, that became the sensation of the trade fair.

“LavarSet” was the launch pad for a host of sanitary products, some of them ground-breaking, that became emblematic of postmodernism. Since then, the bathroom has evolved even more into a place of self-identification, and even after four decades, the urge for ever new aesthetics and functional solutions remains unbroken. Today, business economist Christian Sieger and designer Michael Sieger run the design office. The collaboration results in products with design and functional clarity that are modular and versatile, such as Steel19. The re-design of the classic bucket sink brings the pragmatism of that period to the home bathroom in new perfection.

alape-125--designgeschichte-revolution
alape-125-designgeschichte2

Allegory with
long-term effect

The wash bowl forms the beginning of Alape’s design history. What began as a simple enamel product now represents an essential gesture – to catch and hold water, in its most beautiful form. It is therefore not surprising that the archetype of the wash bowl was the starting point of the design process with Gerhard Busalt when re-designing the classic – a reinterpretation that was unparalleled at the end of the 90s and continues to have an impact today.

Designer Gerhard Busalt

“These bowls and their focus on the shape and the bare essentials fascinated me and I then reinterpreted them with my design. I have always loved bold shapes. Particularly when it comes to a product that cannot expand into a huge area. The shapes must then reduce and simplify the volume of the object but highlight its functionality.”

Gerhard Busalt

The story of the dish basin begins with research by designer Gerhard Busalt, who worked as a freelancer for Alape in 1995. He focused on enamel bowls that were used for washing during the Biedermeier period and were made of thin steel. This led to an idea the designer could not get out of his mind.

 

 

The movement we make when washing our hands played a key role in the designing process: they take on the shape of a sphere. Busalt opted for a spherical segment that replicates a third of a sphere. With its launch in 1997, Alape succeeded in creating the first delicate enamelled steel bowl that brought a whole new look to the bathroom.

The dish basin has not lost any of its appeal. On the contrary, thin-walled basins have made their way into the sanitary sector. However, the clarity and precision of Alape’s basins are still a standard of perfection. The classic dish basins are the inspiration for numerous new developments. Sondo brings sensuality into the bathroom with its soft shape. The most recent addition to Alape’s portfolio is Stream – a larger dish basin in sombre pastel shades.  

Shaping Surfaces

125 years
Shaping Surfaces

Alape’s intense contention with surfaces is a response to very basic needs. Surfaces represent the interface between the human body and the material world, and influence our well-being. The closer we are to the things that surround us in everyday life and the more intimate our relationship is with them, the more important the sensual and emotional moments become.

Colours and surfaces were already a defining topic when the EW 3 built-in basin was introduced in the 1970s. Alape has responded to the trend for expressive interiors with new colour concepts. To this day, expertise in finishing plays an important role in the development of our products. While a wide range of colours is already possible, developments in surface structures have increasingly taken a firm place in product design in recent years.

It is the interplay of colour and textures that makes surfaces come alive and tangible. The most original and authentic space that we humans know is nature. Many of the emotions that evoke the specific material properties within us are firmly embedded here. Analogies to nature inspire us to create multi-sensory surfaces that allow us to form a deep connection with the products.

Water has always inspired us. Especially the way it flows and fills our basins with life. Water is not only probably the most precious element on this earth, it also fascinates us with its depth and the infinite facets of its appearance.

In the AQUA range, products have been created that are as alive as water with light making the colours and different transparent tones dance. The individual pattern of the enamel achieved through manual application makes every basin unique.

Warranty Extension

alape-125-garantie1

Guaranteed long-lasting

Alape’s glazed steel washstands are not only timeless in their design, but also robust and long-lasting. When steel and glass combine, the result is a material that is extremely resistant, scratch-proof and easy to care for. We are so convinced of this that we now offer a manufacturer’s warranty of 25 years* on our basins and washstands.

Glazed steel combines the strength and malleability of steel with the temper and chemical resistance of glass to create a unique composite material. The closed, non-porous surface is absolutely hygienic, colour-fast, fully corrosion-protected, scratch-resistant and robust. The brilliantly coloured glaze is even impervious to climatic influences and strong UV radiation. Durability “Made in Germany”, now with a 25-year manufacturer’s warranty*.

125 Jahre Alape

Seit 1896 arbeiten wir mit glasiertem Stahl. Der Werkstoff ist für uns inspirierender Formgeber und Maßstab in Perfektion. Doch erst das Wasser schafft eine Verbindung zwischen Mensch und Produkt. Als Ursprung des Lebens fließt es buchstäblich in jedes Design ein. Mit unseren Becken und Waschtischen geben wir diesem wertvollen Element eine Form, seit 125 Jahren in immer neuer Perfektion.

Milestones

Ein Kind
seiner Zeit

Die Geschichte Alapes ist eine Geschichte Deutschlands von Gründerzeit, Industrialisierung, Weltkriegen und Wiederaufbau. 1896 von Adolf Lamprecht in Penig gegruündet, ist Alape geprägt durch die Zeit der Industrialisierung, aber auch gleichzeitig durch Bewegungen wie das Arts and Crafts Movement, das dem Unternehmen die Einfachheit und den ernsthaften Umgang mit dem Material sozusagen in die Wiege gelegt hat. 

Meilensteine der
Unternehmensgeschichte

Embracing Water

Erst das Wasser gibt dem
Waschplatz einen Sinn

Seit 125 Jahren leben Menschen mit unseren Produkten. Im Bad, dem wohl intimsten Raum, lassen wir die Hüllen fallen und den Alltag hinter uns. Wasser schafft die Verbindung zwischen handwerklicher Meisterschaft und unserer Persönlichkeit. Wenn es durch unsere Hände fließt und von glasiertem Stahl gehalten wird, entsteht ein Moment der Ursprünglichkeit.

Designgeschichte

alape-125-designgeschichte

125 Jahre
Designgeschichte

Alapes Designgeschichte ist geprägt durch die stete Auseinandersetzung mit glasiertem Stahl in der Interaktion mit Mensch und Architektur. Funktionales und ganzheitliches Denken, höchster Anspruch an Qualität sowie ästhetisches und gleichzeitig zeitloses Design lassen Produkte entstehen, die sich bis heute in unterschiedlichste Lebenswelten integrieren. Wesentliche Triebfeder der Weiterentwicklung über die Jahrzehnte war und ist der Austausch mit Designern, Architekten und Menschen, die mit Alape Produkten leben.

Aufbruch in eine 

neue Zeit

Nachdem Alape mit eigenen Designs wie dem weltweit ersten industriell gefertigten Einbaubecken EW 3 in ein architektonisches Umfeld gerückt war, setzte in der Zusammenarbeit mit Dieter Sieger, seines Zeichens Architekt und Schiffsbauer, Anfang der 80er Jahre eine neue Ära ein. Was in einer Notlage bei der Fertigstellung einer Yacht bei Nacht begann, war der Start in eine jahrzehntelange und bis heute andauernde Zusammenarbeit mit unserem Designpartner sieger design.

Dieter Sieger 1993 über den damaligen 

Alape-Inhaber Heinrich Feldhege:

„Ihm verdanke ich im Grunde, dass ich heute Industriedesign machen darf. Ein Mann, der es mir möglich gemacht hat, Produkte zu entwickeln, zu denen zum damaligen Zeitpunkt sicherlich keine andere Firma bereitgewesen wäre.“

Die Revolution des
Waschplatzes

Für Dieter Sieger besaßen Bäder einen höheren Stellenwert als nur minimierte Nasszellen wie es in der damaligen Zeit üblich war. Im Schiffsbau hatte er gelernt auf kleinstem Raum einzigartige Lösungen für anspruchsvolle Kunden zu gestalten. So entstand bis 1982 der Waschplatz „LavarSet“, der 1983 zur Internationalen Sanitärmesse „ISH“ präsentiert wurde. Ein Waschplatz, der strahlendes Objekt und zugleich Ausdruck der eigenen Persönlichkeit war. Beeinflusst durch den Schiffsbau, war das Design durch Rundungen und formale Konzentration gekennzeichnet. Der zugrundeliegende Systemansatz ließ Spielraum für individuelle Gestaltung. Es war seinerzeit aber nicht nur das Produkt, sondern der von Dieter Sieger eigens für die ISH gestaltet Pavillon, der zur Sensation der Messe wurde

„LavarSet“ war der Startpunkt für eine Vielzahl von zum Teil bahnbrechenden Sanitärprodukten, die zum Sinnbild der Postmoderne wurden. Das Bad entwickelte sich seitdem noch mehr zum Ort der Selbstidentifikation und auch nach vier Jahrzehnten ist der Drang nach immer neuen ästhetischen und zugleich funktionalen Lösungen ungebrochen. Heute leiten der Betriebswirt Christian Sieger und der Designer Michael Sieger das Entwurfsbüro. In der Zusammenarbeit entstehen Produkte in gestalterischer und funktionaler Klarheit, die modular und vielseitig einsetzbar sind wie zum Beispiel Steel19. Das Re-Design des klassischen Ausgussbeckens bringt den Pragmatismus der damaligen Zeit in neuer Perfektion in das heimische Bad.

alape-125--designgeschichte-revolution
alape-125-designgeschichte2

Sinnbild mit
Langzeitwirkung

Die Waschschüssel bildet den Anfang der Alape Designgeschichte. Was als einfaches Emailleprodukt begann, steht heute für eine essentielle Geste – Wasser aufzufangen und zu halten, in seiner schönsten Form. So verwundert es nicht, dass der Archetyp der Waschschüssel Ausgangspunkt des Designprozesses mit Gerhard Busalt beim Re-Design der klassischen Schale war. Eine Neuinterpretation, die Ende der 90er Jahre seinesgleichen suchte und bis heute nachwirkt.

Designer Gerhard Busalt zum Re-Design

„Diese Schüsseln und ihre formale Verdichtung auf das Wesentliche haben mich fasziniert und ich habe sie dann mit meinem Entwurf neu interpretiert. Ich habe strenge Formen schon immer geliebt. Insbesondere wenn es sich um ein Produkt handelt, das sich nicht in einem riesigen Umfeld ausdehnen kann. Dann müssen Formen die Lautstärke dieses Objekts zurücknehmen und vereinfachen, aber die Funktionalität hervorheben.“

Gerhard Busalt

Die Geschichte des Schalenbeckens beginnt mit einer Recherche des Designers Gerhard Busalt, der 1995 als freier Mitarbeiter bei Alape tätig war. Dabei beschäftigte er sich mit Emailschüsseln, die zur Biedermeierzeit zum Waschen benutzt wurden und aus dünnem Stahl bestanden. So wurde eine Idee geboren, die den Designer nicht mehr losließ.


Beim Entwurf spielte die Bewegung der Hände beim Waschen eine wichtige Rolle: Sie nehmen dabei eine kugelige Form an. Busalt entschied sich für einen Kugelanschnitt, der ein Drittel einer Kugel abbildet. Mit der Markteinführung 1997 ist Alape die erste filigrane Schale aus emailliertem Stahl gelungen, die eine ganz neue Optik ins Bad gebracht hat.

Das Schalenbecken hat in seiner Attraktivität nicht verloren. Im Gegenteil, dünnwandige Becken haben in der Sanitärbranche Einzug gehalten. Die Klarheit und Präzision der Alape Becken ist jedoch nach wie vor Maßstab in Perfektion. Die klassischen Schalenbecken stehen Pate für zahlreiche Neuentwicklungen. Sondo bringt mit seiner weichen Form Sinnlichkeit ins Bad. Mit Stream hat Alape zuletzt ein größeres Schalenbecken in gedeckten Pastelltönen in das Portfolio aufgenommen.  

 

Shaping Surfaces

125 Jahre
Shaping Surfaces

Alapes intensive Auseinandersetzung mit Oberflächen ist eine Antwort auf ganz elementare Bedürfnisse. Oberflächen stellen die Schnittstelle dar zwischen dem menschlichen Körper und der dinglichen Welt, sie beeinflussen unser Wohlbefinden. Je näher uns die Dinge sind, die uns im Alltag umgeben, je intimer unsere Beziehung zu ihnen ist, desto wichtiger werden sinnlich-emotionale Momente.

Farben und Oberflächen waren schon mit Einführung des Einbaubeckens EW 3 in den 70er Jahren ein bestimmendes Thema. Alape ist dem Trend nach ausdrucksstarken Interieurs mit neuen Farbkonzepten gefolgt. Bis heute spielt die Oberflächenkompetenz eine wichtige Rolle in der Entwicklung unserer Produkte. Während ohnehin schon ein breites Farbspektrum möglich ist, haben in den letzten Jahren verstärkt Entwicklungen an Oberflächenstrukturen einen festen Platz im Produktdesign eingenommen.

Erst das Zusammenspiel aus Farbe und Haptik lässt Oberflächen lebendig und spürbar werden. Der ursprünglichste und authentischste Raum, den wir Menschen kennen, ist die Natur. Ein Großteil der Emotionen, die bestimmte Materialeigenschaften in uns hervorrufen, liegt hier verankert. Analogien zur Natur beflügeln uns zu multi-sensorischen Oberflächen, die uns eine tiefe Verbindung zu den Produkten eingehen lassen.

Das Wasser begeistert uns seit jeher. Wie es fließt und unsere Becken mit Leben erfüllt. Wasser ist nicht nur das wohl kostbarste Element unserer Erde, es fasziniert uns in seiner Tiefe und den unendlichen Facetten seiner Erscheinung.

Mit AQUA sind Produkte entstanden, die so lebendig sind wie Wasser, wenn das Licht die Farben und Transparenzen zum Tanzen bringt. Der Individuelle Verlauf der Emaillierung, den der Handauftrag mit sich bringt, macht jedes Becken zum Unikat.

Garantieverlängerung

alape-125-garantie1

Garantiert langlebig

Alape Waschtische aus glasiertem Stahl sind nicht nur zeitlos in ihrem Design, sondern robust und beständig. Wenn sich Stahl und Glas vereinen, entsteht ein Material, das äußerst widerstandsfähig, kratzfest und pflegeleicht ist. Wir sind so überzeugt davon, dass wir ab sofort eine Herstellergarantie von 25 Jahren* auf unsere Becken und Waschtische gewähren.

Glasierter Stahl vereint die Festigkeit und die Formbarkeit von Stahl mit der Härte und chemischen Widerstandskraft von Glas zu einem einzigartigen Verbundwerkstoff. Die geschlossene, porenfreie Oberfläche ist absolut hygienisch, farbbeständig, rundum 

korrosionsgeschützt, kratzfest und robust. Selbst gegen klimatische Einflüsse und starke UV-Strahlung ist die farbbrillante Glasur immun. Langlebigkeit madein Germany, jetzt mit 25 Jahren Herstellergarantie*.